Defiance

Our son is showing signs of defiance.  We have all seen it.  There are the classic cases of the kid throwing a fit in Wal-Mart over a toy he can’t have.  Usually, they’re flat out sprawled on the floor or limp in the basked bawling their eyes out and screaming about something.  I pray that we never get there.  I don’t think I could handle the embarrassment.  Actually, compared to those cases, Caleb is a complete angel.  Here is an example:

Making dinner each night is quite the ordeal for our little guy.  He is okay to play by himself for a little while when we are just sitting on the couch, but all the movement in the kitchen seems to stimulate him and he joins in on the hustle-and-bustle.  One night, I was grilling some chicken in the backyard so I was going in and out of the back door constantly.  As I was stepping outside to put the chicken on, Caleb thought it would be fun to come outside with me.  With my hands full and the grill waiting, all I could do was repeatedly ask him to close the door.  He didn’t have shoes on and he still hasn’t mastered the use of porch steps.  Of course, he wasn’t too excited about the idea, but he finally complied.

I only wish you could have seen the look on his face as he pushed the door closed.  One would think that we had told him Elmo had died and Sesame Street was canceled.  As the door finally shut (he pushed it shut and made sure it latched like we taught him), he clapped.  He was still very upset, but managed to eek out a “yay!” between his sniffles and sobs.

That was not an isolated incident either.  It has become the norm as Caleb learns the balance between obedience and pleasure.  My wife and I have learned so much from him about our own relationship to our heavenly father.  We have learned to trust Him, but we still scream and cry as we carry out His plan.

Children, obey your parents in the Lord, for this is right.

Ephesians 6:1 (ESV)

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Defiance

  1. mom henson says:

    Oh Dane! I really did laugh out loud at your description of his face and demeanor as he tried to comply with your wishes!!!! Priceless!

    I can totally relate to how he feels. “I don’t WANNA!” but “OK”.

    I could not be prouder of the parents you two are. He will continue to defy and test, all I can say is, keep that united front as you grow and learn with him! 🙂

  2. shari says:

    It’s so hard not to laugh at him. I know he is a sinner, but he is my sweet little sinner!

Leave a Reply

