Mom Duty

Caleb was sick yesterday.  (Puking his guts out, the poor kid)

Shari was sick today… all day. (Puking her guts out too)

This guy *points two thumbs at himself* was on mom duty.

At the Henson house, we take God’s Word seriously.  Especially the parts the talk about how the man is supposed to go out and work to support his family (1 Timothy 5:8), and the woman is supposed to stay home and take care of the household (Titus 2:3-5).  So when I say that I was on mom duty, I’m not kidding around.  We don’t take Caleb to child care, and we certainly don’t have the money to pay for a maid.  If you have even one kid, you understand that being a stay-at-home mom usually entails making the kid happy, keeping the house clean, keeping the husband happy, and supporting the world on your shoulders.  I break a sweat just thinking about it.

The good news is that I survived the day.  I managed to keep Caleb entertained, get some grocery shopping done, get some laundry done, clean the kitchen, and make sure Shari was taken care of.  While that might be a normal day for a stay-at-home mom, it was a big deal for me.

I prayed real hard that Shari would be healed by tomorrow morning.

Am I a terrible husband?

It wasn’t really as bad as I make it out to be in my head, but I will be relieved when Shari is back to her old self.  I missed her.  I am so blessed to have a wife that never complains about her job.  When I come home, she is usually there to greet me with a kiss.  She lets me get comfortable and eases me into a conversation about our day.  I am always willing to help out with whatever she is working on when I get home, but she always tells me just to sit down and relax.  She is my friend, my partner, “my gooder half”.

It’s days like these that help me appreciate my most perfect partner.

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “Mom Duty

  1. shari says:

    I am so offended. 🙂 what beautiful words just for me! I am so proud of you! you are a better mom than me.

Leave a Reply

